Wayne County Tax Claim Bureau
925 Court Street
Honesdale, PA 18431
Phone: (570) 253-5970 EXT 4000
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30-4:30
Cheryl A. Davies, Director of Tax Services
Lisa Borthwick, Assistant Director of Tax Claim
Jane D’Amore, Administrative Assistant
Nicole Short, Clerk
Tara Fiorelli, Clerk
Wayne County Tax Claim Bureau conducts Tax Sales under the general provisions of The Pennsylvania Real Estate Tax Sale Law Act 542 of 1947 and its Amendments. This act is codified at 72 PS 5860.101 et seq.
Unpaid taxes are returned to tax claim January 15th of each year. On February 1st Interest of nine percent per annum begins. The tax bureau notifies delinquent taxable property owner(s) about the delinquent return by certified mail no later than July 31st. Forms of payment accepted are: Personal check, Certified check, Money Orders & Credit Cards. Cash is NOT accepted.
If delinquent taxes are not paid during the year in which they are returned to the Bureau, on January 1st of the next year the claim becomes absolute, and preparation to offer the property at auction to recover the unpaid taxes begins. If your claim has become absolute we will only accept your Personal check until May 31st.
Forms of payment accepted after May 31st is:
Certified check, Money Orders & Credit Cards.
NO CASH & NO PERSONAL CHECKS
Under the provisions of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Right to Know Law, Act 2008-3 (S. B. 1), § 703, approved February 14, 2008 and effective January 1 2009, the following is a list of owners that have unclaimed surplus due them. Owners must contact the Wayne County Tax Claim bureau and provide photo ID & Notarize claim form to make a claim. The Wayne County Tax Claim Bureau will only issue claimed surplus to the owner stated and/or distributed under the provisions of The Pennsylvania Real Estate Tax Sale Law, Act 542 of 1947. This list will be updated May, 15th of each year.
Upset Tax Sales
A July 1st Upset Sale preparation cost of $125.00 is applied to each delinquent taxable property where the claim has become absolute. Advertisement of the Upset sale for delinquent real estate taxes occurs in August of each year in two local newspapers of the general circulation. The Upset Sale is held in September of each year at the Wayne County Court House. Upset price is comprised of three years of taxes (two years of delinquent taxes and the current year tax) plus the deed recording fees and transfer taxes. The properties are sold subject to all liens, judgments and mortgages of record. Full-certified payment is required upon all purchases the day of sale.
Non-Repository Tax Sales
Properties not sold at Upset Sale are placed on a Non-Repository list and are available for private sale with a minimum bid of accrued cost. These properties are sold SUBJECT TO liens, judgments & mortgages.
Judicial Tax Sales
In January of the third year, properties on the Non-Repository list are prepared for a Judicial Sale. A property search is completed and the Bureau petitions the Court to sell property free and clear of liens, judgments, and mortgages. Through a Sheriff service, owners and creditors are served a rule of our intentions to sell property free & clear. Owners and Creditors have 30 days from the date the petition was filed or otherwise determined by the court, to file against us selling free & clear. The Bureau conducts Judicial Sales in July and/or August. Bid price starts at the amount of costs accrued on each delinquent property. Full-certified payment is required upon all purchases the day of sale.
Repository Tax Sales
Following the Judicial Sale, unsold properties are placed on a Repository list. The Wayne County Tax Claim Bureau will hold a Public Repository Sale on a quarterly basis, with sales being held in February, May, August and November. Starting bid will be the amount of cost accrued for each property. The transfer taxes are based on the purchase price and, along with the recording fee of $56.00, must be paid by the successful bidder with the purchase price the same day as the sale. These properties are sold “Free & Clear” of Liens, Judgments and Mortgages of record, to the extent we have successfully identified and served process on interested parties. Full-certified payment is required upon all purchases the day of sale.
The Wayne County Tax Claim Bureau does not sell tax liens, maintain a mailing list or accept bids over the Internet. The Tax Claim Bureau will sell property as described on the dockets in the Bureau and makes no warranty or representation as to the description, nor will it make any new survey on property sold. The Bureau also reserves the right to void any sale if the Bureau discovers a defect with regard to said sale.
In accordance with Act #133, approved on 12/21/1998, P.L. 1368, # 542, All Prospective Bidders MUST submit a CERTIFICATION OF BIDDER signed by each purchaser and notarized. Pursuant to Section 619.1 of the Real Estate Tax Sale Law, 72 P.S. Should the Wayne County Tax Claim Bureau find that delinquent taxes are due, no deed will be issued until all taxes are paid in full.